This website uses cookies to record visitor acitivity. It helps us to improve the site and offer you a better experience.
By default, this is switched on. If you would prefer, you can switch it off - there are further controls for this on our Privacy Page.

Worthians Cricket 2014 Match Report

Worthians Cricket 2014 Match Report

This season has been a very inconsistent one for the Worthians. Thankfully this was due to poor weather rather than poor performances on the pitch. With three out of the six games called off this season due to rain it is understandable that the team did not quite find the same groove as last year. The season ended with Worthians winning one of their three matches. However the headline number is perhaps a bit harsh on the Worthians and there were some great team and individual performances this year.

The first match of the 2014 season was against John Denman’s Occasionals. The Worthians opted to bowl first on a very green pitch and were able to utilize the conditions from the start, keeping pressure on the Occasionals for the first 15 overs. Early wickets from Greg Russell, Thomas Bilbé and Rishi Amin put the Worthians in a good position at the drink’s break. However the break was the respite the Occasionals needed and they quickly regained composure and started attacking the Worthians bowling. At the end of the first innings the game was evenly poised with the Occasionals reaching 180 all out.

The Worthians got off to the worst possible start losing nearly all the top order without troubling the scorers. There was a middle order recovery thanks to some aggressive batting from Hopkins and Lannen, but just as things were looking up John Denman decided to put any hopes of memorable Worthians victory out to pasture. A return of the Occasionals ‘wheels’ opening bowler and the Occasionals secret weapon cleaned up the tail end with ease. In the end the Worthians slumped to 100 all out thanks to a more than useful seven wickets for the Occasionals opening bowler.

On a beautiful summer’s day, the Max McAllister invitational side visited Worth in a game that epitomised Worthian cricket. Batting collapses, a late call to arms to get a side together, and a fiercely contested match played in the spirit of the game saw Worth comprehensively beaten by a strong visiting team. Worth veteran Hugo Bashall hit a steady and dignified 40 having opened the batting, before running himself out to allow Captain Tom Woodman to reach his 50, who played in a form reminiscent of his school days. At 99 for 1 Worth looked to be building a good first innings total, but then in true Worth fashion a middle order collapse followed by a tail that failed to ‘wag’ meant that the Worthians were all out for 183.

Bright eyed and refreshed from the orange squash and tuna paste sandwiches served for tea, Worth took to the field with a strong bowling side. The McAllister XI made a strong start, with their opening pair taking the attack to Worth’s young pacey duo of Cummins and Coleman. Obviously not in a rush to hang around and face the first bowling change, the openers put on 144 for the first wicket, with many a six hit that would have put the old Rutherford building in danger – had it not demolished a matter of weeks previously. A sudden surge of wickets from the ever reliable Stuart Barnett (3 wickets, 24 runs, 5 overs), helped out by Bashall and our resident ringer Phillips (lent to us by the opposition team), meant that the game suddenly was in the balance. However a late stand from their lower order meant that Worth fell to a hard fought defeat with a mere 13 overs remaining.

On balance, the scorecard showed a somewhat gloomy outlook, but in truth the resilience and character that epitomises Worth Cricket shone through as bright as the sun was that day. The match was an uphill struggle from even before the toss of a coin, due to some late pull outs and no shows – but thanks should be given to Damian and Luke Cummins for making up the numbers and for those players who stuck to their word and brought a tremendous amount of energy, character, and spirit with them.

The final game of the season was against Downside Wanderers. Arriving at the ground to torrential rain didn’t fill us with much hope of turning the season around. However, after a 20 minute delay the clouds cleared and play got under way with Worth fielding their strongest side of the season. Worth started well with a solid early partnership between Tom Woodman (28) and Theo Rivers (28). After a couple of quick wickets the Worthians looked on the edge of a collapse. Thankfully Joseph Rivers steadied the ship with a quick fire 39 and helped Worth to a par score on a tricky wicket of 125 from our 30 overs. Downside responded with a slow but unbroken opening partnership reaching 46-0 off the first 15 overs leaving the game very much in the balance. There was some very tight but fruitless blowing from Thomas Bilbe and Rishi Amin who were unlucky not to get the early breakthrough. The game was flipped on his head when Ed DeMott (3-11), Theo Rivers (2-21) and Matt Donegan (2-24) ripped through Downside’s top and middle order in a game changing 10 overs. This left Downside on 90-9 with 6 overs to spare. The game came to a nail biting conclusion with Rishi Amin taking the final wicket with 2 overs to go, bowling Downside out for 110. This was a well-deserved win for the Worthians and a fitting end to the season.

I would like to say thank you to all who played for the Worthians this season. I appreciate that people are busy during the summer and plans can change, but at times it has been very difficult to put a team together. To keep the club going it is important that we continue to retain current players and bring in new players. Irrespective of your standard we would love to get as many Worthians as possible involved in the club, so when the email comes out next season please don’t hesitate to get in contact!

Michael Bilbe (StB’06)

The following Worthians represented the Worthian Cricket Team during the 2013-14 Season:

Rishi Amin (F’11)

Hugo Bashall (R’06)

Michael Bilbe (StB’06)

Thomas Bilbe (StB’06)

Mark Breen (StB’76)

Ed DeMott (B’07)

Luke Donegan (StB’13)

Matt Donegan (StB’10)

Nick Hopkins (G’05)

Ed Long (G’03)

Joseph Rivers (F’10)

Theo Rivers (F’11)

Greg Russell (F’11)

Ben Oakley (F’08)

Tom Plantarose (R’06)

Ben Pullan (C’13)

Adrian Vella (C’08)

Ed Watson (StB’09)

Tom Woodman (F’07)


Liam Lannen

Stuart Barnett